Hi! I’m Emmie!

Well hello everyone – welcome to my very first blog post!  I’m excited to be here and share with you my love of crafting!  Be sure to check back often as I’ll be chatting 1-2 times a week, maybe even more!

Before we get rolling on all the fun stuff, I thought I’d give you some background on me, a resume of sorts, since the good folks over at MCG Textiles have dubbed me a celebrity and “The Craftanista Queen”.

Though I’ve done guest spots on QVC and “America Quilts Creatively with Sue Hausmann” and I’ve often demonstrated crafts at trade shows, I’m not anywhere near as famous as some of the crafters, artists and designers with whom I spend time.  That’s fine by me, especially when I’m making a quick dash to a craft store looking like I just rolled out of bed!  As for being “The Craftanista Queen”, well that title I embrace and celebrate whole-heartedly!!

I’m often asked when I started crafting, and the honest answer is that I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t crafting.  As luck would have it, I grew up in a very creative family where singing, instrument playing, wood-working, cross stitching, crocheting, sewing and more were always in abundance.  As my circle widened, many of the friends I surrounded myself with were also creative, and they mentored me in new ways to express my creativity – knitting, latch hook, punch needle, photography, gardening, cooking, drawing, painting, and more.

My very first full-time job was a bank teller, and when I commented on a customer’s purse that had a needlepoint insert, the conversation that followed led to my first part-time job in the craft industry.  It didn’t take long for that part-time job to become a full-time one, and the rest, as they say, is history.

The greatest perk to working in this industry, besides the phenomenal people I’ve met and the opportunity to share my love of crafting, is being introduced to all the new techniques, and to understand them so thoroughly that I can develop projects from scratch.  It is wonderful creating special one-of-a-kind items, even when there are some false starts or major re-works involved.

Nothing illustrates creativity better than pictures, so here are a few examples of what I’ve done…

A yarn project from 6th grade just to show that I started young…this 35+ year old picture hangs in the hallway right outside my bedroom!

Counted cross stitch is my preference when it comes to needlecraft, but I do dabble with embroidery, crewel, needlepoint and stamped cross stitch.  Here are 5 projects that hang in one of my hallways…the 1st, 3rd and 5th are counted cross stitch, the other 2 are crewel. I’m sorry that it’s a funky picture, but it’s the only place where I have more than one project hanging together so I thought it was better to be funky and show off many projects rather than be non-funky with just one.

I love to garden and take pictures of the flowers that grow in them.  One day when I was aching for a new locker hooking project to tackle, I went through my pictures and stumbled across one I had taken of a cosmos.  Within a couple of days I had a chart and fabric supply list…a month later I had a wall hanging!

I’ve always been fascinated by quilts but have never really “gotten into” quilting.  One day my sister and I took a Quilt Top In A Day class and this is the result.  It’s only lap size, and I didn’t quite get it all done in one day, but I love the finished project and have it hanging in my family room.

I decided to “decorate” the one window in my craft room as if it was on the outside, kind of making the window inside-out, or outside-in if you prefer.  I hung shutters then created an awning valance.  I really want to put a window box underneath the window, but I’m confident my feline craft assistants would have way too much fun with it…

And an example of me going a bit overboard.  In 1989 I designed & knitted this sweater when I had front row center seats to one of Neil Diamond’s concerts.  The front and back look the same, but the back has completely different song titles than the front.  I’m not sure how many songs are included, but at least 50 would be as safe bet.  I’ve only been to two of his concerts since 1989, so the sweater has only been worn 3 times.  It now lives on a wicker dress form in my family room…

So that’s a little about me and my crafting background!  What about you?  How did you start crafting and what do you do?

Until next time…keep being crafty

~~ Emmie ~~

This entry was posted in Emmie and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

