Reaching Your Crafting Deadlines

Last week the good folks at MCG posted on their Facebook page that I’m very busy with a knitting project…and they’re right!  I’m working on 2 projects for the Ravelry Ravellenics Games (the knitting world’s Olympics) – the scarf is easy and relaxing and the cardigan?  It’s definitely challenging!

I’ll fill you in on the projects in a week or two, including pictures, but now I need your suggestions!

I’m a bit behind on the sweater and have until Sunday night to finish knitting 2 sleeves, assemble the cardigan, add finishing touches and upload the picture to Ravelry.  Normally sleeves are a breeze, but this entire cardigan is cable-crazy, at times along the back I did 21 cable twists in one row!  If you knit you understand but if you cross stitch, it’s like a row full of 1/4 or 3/4 cross stitches.  Slow going…

Are you wondering what this has to do with the good folks at MCG since knitting isn’t their area?  I’m a firm believer that ALL crafters, no matter whether they’re knitting, sewing, latch hooking, locker hooking, crocheting, cross stitching or whatever, all of us share a common problem more often than we’re willing to admit.

And that problem is a deadline that somehow sneaks up on us.  You know, just like Christmas, that same-date-every-year deadline that most people scramble to meet.

For my current dilemma I’ve pretty much used up my bag of tricks….

1.  Set and meet mini goals along the way.  Mini goals set but um…not quite met.

2.  Get up an hour earlier in the morning and stay up an hour later at night and knit.  Two hours each weekday means 10 hours in a week!  Done, but I’m not super-smart during these bonus times and have been doing some frogging.  The magnet on my Mom’s fridge, “The Hurrier I Go The Behinder I Get” springs to mind.

3.  Have ingredients on hand for quick and easy meals so no precious time is wasted on cooking.  Quick and easy meals have now turned into take-out

4.  Let friends know so they can be supportive (and understand your social absence).  The supportive friends have dragged me out a couple extra times in the past week.  Where is my will-power when I need it?

5.  Pare down social commitments to a minimum.  Ummm…refer to #4  😦  and add a Friday night concert.

Okay fellow crafters, what ideas are in your bags of tricks?  I only have four more days to get everything done so suggestions are welcome!  If we all share ideas, just think of the Meeting Deadline Reference Library we’ll have when the holidays roll around!!

Until next time…keep being crafty

~~ Emmie ~~

This entry was posted in Emmie, Tips & Tricks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

